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BACKGROUND: 

 

1. The parties disagreed on Claimant’s permanent impairment rating.  They mediated 

their dispute on May 18, 2021 but did not resolve it.  The Department’s specialist 

declined to issue an interim order, and on September 2, 2021, she referred the dispute 

to the formal hearing docket for resolution.  The case was scheduled for a formal 

hearing on January 19, 2022.  Before the hearing took place, on December 13, 2021, 

Defendant accepted the ten percent permanent impairment rating that Claimant 

advocated for, and the formal hearing was cancelled.  See generally Mallow v. 

Bullrock Solar, LLC, Opinion No. 09A-22WC (March 23, 2022). 

 

2. On January 10, 2022, Claimant filed a petition seeking $2,102.50 in costs and 

$3,748.00 in attorney fees.  Defendant opposed the petition on February 8, 2022.  On 

March 23, 2022, the Department awarded Claimant the costs he was seeking but 

denied an award of attorney fees.1  

 

3. On March 31, 2022, Defendant filed a Motion for Reconsideration of the 

Department’s award of costs, contending that the Department lacked authority for the 

cost award to Claimant under either the Vermont Workers’ Compensation Act or the 

Department’s administrative rules.  Claimant opposed the motion on April 14, 2022.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
1 On April 25, 2022, Claimant appealed the denial of an attorney fee award to Superior Court. 
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DISCUSSION: 

 

Statutory Authority for Awarding Costs 

 

1. Defendant contends that 21 V.S.A. § 678 does not provide statutory authority for an 

award of costs in any case where the claimant did not prevail after formal hearing.  

Section 678(a) provides as follows: 

 

Necessary costs of proceedings under this chapter, including deposition 

expenses, subpoena fees, and expert witness fees, shall be assessed by 

the Commissioner against the employer or its workers’ compensation 

carrier when the claimant prevails. The Commissioner may allow the 

claimant to recover reasonable attorney’s fees when the claimant 

prevails. Costs shall not be taxed or allowed either party except as 

provided in this section. 

 

2. Accordingly, the statute provides that costs of “proceedings under this chapter” shall 

be assessed when the claimant prevails.  Notably, § 678(a) does not refer to formal 

proceedings, nor does it state that costs will be awarded only when a claimant prevails 

at formal hearing.  Rather, the statute uses the broad language “proceedings under this 

chapter.” 

 

3. From this broad language, I conclude that “proceedings under this chapter” refers to 

all proceedings, both formal and informal.  As the Commissioner has previously held, 

§ 678(a) “does not differentiate between the informal dispute resolution process and 

the formal hearing process. Both constitute ‘proceedings under this chapter.’”  Yustin 

v. State of Vermont, Department of Public Safety, Opinion No. 08-12WC (March 20, 

2012), citing Taft v. Central Vermont Public Service Corp., Opinion No. 03-11WC 

(January 25, 2011).  

 

4. Section 678(a) further provides that cost awards shall be made “when the claimant 

prevails.”  In order to be eligible for a cost award, therefore, a claimant must have 

“prevailed” at either the formal or informal level.2  If a claimant prevails at the 

informal level but the dispute is subsequently referred to the formal level, then the 

dispute is not yet resolved, and consideration of an award of costs or attorney fees 

would be premature.  See, e.g., Leffler v. The Oryza Group, LLC, Opinion No. 12-

20WC (July 8, 2020) (dispute must be resolved before an award of costs and fees may 

be made).  

 

5. Section 678(a) also sets forth examples of necessary costs, including “deposition 

expenses, subpoena fees, and expert witness fees.”  Such costs are more frequently 

incurred in cases that go to formal hearing.  Nevertheless, a claimant may incur 

 
2 When a claimant prevails on some, but not all, of the disputed issues, the cost award is generally tailored to 

cover only those costs that relate directly to the successful claims. Lydy v. Trustaff, Inc., Opinion No. 05A-12WC 

(April 27, 2012), citing Lyons v. American Flatbread, Opinion No. 36A-03WC (October 24, 2003); Hatin v. Our 

Lady of Providence, Opinion No. 21S-03WC (October 22, 2003).   
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subpoena fees or other costs prior to hearing, including at the informal level, and 

nothing in the language of § 678(a) is inconsistent with awarding such costs prior to 

hearing, if a claimant prevails.  Indeed, if a claimant must incur necessary deposition 

expenses or expert witness fees to prevail at the informal level, then an award of such 

costs would be appropriate.  Otherwise, the claimant would not get the full advantage 

of his statutory benefits.  See Hodgeman v. Jard Co., 157 Vt. 461, 465 (1991) (award 

of attorney fees under the workers’ compensation statute consistent with statute’s 

underlying purpose to make claimants whole).   

  

6. Finally, § 678(d) of the workers’ compensation statute provides as follows: 

 

In cases for which a formal hearing is requested and the case is 

resolved prior to formal hearing, the Commissioner may award 

reasonable attorney’s fees if the claimant retained an attorney in 

response to an actual or effective denial of a claim and thereafter 

payments were made to the claimant as a result of the attorney’s efforts. 

 

7. In interpreting § 678(d), I note that § 678(a) provides that awards of costs are 

mandatory, while awards of attorney fees are discretionary.  Section 678(d) then 

provides the conditions under which the Commissioner may consider a discretionary 

attorney fee award.  Section 678(d) does not address costs, as cost awards are 

mandatory, not discretionary.  The absence of a cost provision in § 678(d) therefore 

does not serve to preclude costs in cases resolved prior to formal hearing.  Cf. McNally 

v. Department of PATH, 2011 VT 93, ¶ 5 (interpreting § 678(a) as allowing costs on 

appeal, even though § 678(b) concerning attorney fees on appeal is silent as to costs: 

“although § 678(b) does not address costs, neither does it preclude them”).   

 

8. Accordingly, I find that the Department has authority under the workers’ 

compensation statute to award costs to prevailing claimants whether they prevail at the 

informal level, the formal level, or at hearing. 

 

Workers’ Compensation Rules 

 

9. Defendant also contends that the Workers’ Compensation Rules provide no authority 

for an award of costs when a party prevails at the informal level.  Defendant’s 

Memorandum, at 2.  Claimant here did not prevail at the informal level.  His case was 

on the formal docket, and he prevailed about a month prior to the scheduled formal 

hearing.     

 

10. In any event, Defendant cites Workers’ Compensation Rule 20.1400,3 which outlines a 

party’s potential entitlement to attorney fees “absent formal hearing.”  Defendant 

points out that Rule 20.1400 does not mention cost awards absent formal hearing and 

contends that the failure to mention costs precludes them prior to formal hearing.  I 

find this argument unpersuasive.  For the same reasons set forth in Discussion Section 

No. 7 supra, the absence of any mention of costs in Rule 20.1400 does not preclude 

 
3 Rule 20.1400 cites 21 V.S.A. § 678(d) and sets forth the same three criteria for consideration of a discretionary 

award of attorney fees. 
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the award of costs prior to formal hearing.  Rather, as the award of attorney fees is 

discretionary, Rule 20.1400 enumerates the elements governing the exercise of that 

discretion.  Since cost awards are not discretionary, the rules do not need to address 

the conditions for exercising discretion to award them.       

 

11. Accordingly, I conclude that Rule 20.1400 does not limit the Department’s authority 

to award costs to prevailing claimants pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 678(a). 

 

The Department’s Historical Practice 

  

12. Defendant also contends that allowing cost awards prior to formal hearing would be 

inconsistent with the Department’s historical practice.  It is true that claimants who 

prevail after formal hearing are more likely to seek an award of costs than those who 

prevail prior to hearing.  However, there is certainly precedent for the Department 

awarding costs in cases resolved both at the informal level and at the formal level prior 

to hearing.   See, e.g., Combs v. Broe’s Masonry, Opinion No. 27-15WC (November 

12, 2015) (claimant prevailed on the formal docket prior to hearing); Pawley v. Booska 

Movers/Zurich North American and Vanliner Ins. Co., Opinion No. 04-13WC 

(February 5, 2013) (carrier withdrew its opposition a few weeks prior to the scheduled 

hearing); Williams v. State of Vermont, Opinion No. 03-19WC (February 25, 2019) 

(claimant prevailed at the informal dispute resolution level); Herring v. State of 

Vermont, Department of Liquor Control, Opinion No. 06-15WC (March 24, 2015) 

(same); Wolff v. Johnson State College, Opinion No. 16-15WC (July 13, 2015) 

(same); Hoyt v. Chittenden South Supervisory Union, Opinion No. 09-14WC (May 13, 

2014) (same).   

 

13. On the other hand, there are also cases where the Department denied both costs and 

attorney fees to a prevailing claimant prior to formal hearing, with no separate analysis 

of whether necessary costs should be awarded.  See, e.g., Hoyt v. Chittenden South 

Supervisory Union, Opinion No. 09-15WC (April 28, 2015); Ploof v. Franklin County 

Sheriff’s Department and Trident/Massamont, Opinion No. 13-14WC (August 8, 

2014).  Given the inconsistency in past practice, I find that past practice cannot 

determine the outcome in this case. 

 

Vermont Rule of Civil Procedure 54(d) 

 

14. Vermont Rule of Civil Procedure 54 governs judgments and costs in civil matters.  

Defendant contends that an award of costs prior to formal hearing in a workers’ 

compensation claim before the Department would stand in “stark contradiction” with 

V.R.Civ.P. 54(d), which provides that costs “shall be allowed as of course to the 

prevailing party, as provided by statute and by these rules unless the court otherwise 

specifically directs.”  Defendant argues that, since costs are available only after 

judgment under V.R.Civ.P. 54(d), costs should be allowed in proceedings before the 

Department only after a claimant prevails at formal hearing.  

 

15. This contention overlooks a key difference between V.R.Civ.P. 54(d) and 21 V.S.A. § 

678(a).  Costs are awarded to a prevailing party under V.R.Civ.P. 54(d) “as provided 
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by statute.”  However, the workers’ compensation statute does not provide for an 

award of costs to the prevailing party.  It provides for an award of costs to the 

claimant when the claimant prevails in “proceedings” before the Department.  The 

workers’ compensation statute does not provide for any award of costs to a prevailing 

defendant.  Thus, I find that the framework for an award of costs in a workers’ 

compensation claim is not governed by V.R.Civ.P. 54(d).  

 

16. For all of these reasons, I conclude that the Department has authority to award costs to 

a claimant who prevails in proceedings before the Department prior to formal hearing. 

 

Costs Sought by Claimant 

 

17. Claimant prevailed at the formal dispute resolution level, about one month prior to the 

scheduled formal hearing, when Defendant withdrew its opposition to the ten percent 

impairment rating advocated by Claimant.  Based on Claimant’s having prevailed, on 

March 23, 2022, the Department awarded him $1,250.00 for his physician’s 

impairment rating and $852.50 for his mediation costs. 

 

18. Upon review, I find that the cost of Claimant’s physician’s impairment rating was a 

necessary cost of this proceeding and therefore recoverable under § 678(a).  See Sanz 

v. Douglas Collins, Opinion No. 25-05WC (April 26, 2005) (cost of physician’s 

impairment rating awarded under § 678(a) when case settled on the formal docket 

prior to hearing).  Accordingly, I award Claimant $1,250.00 for this cost. 

 

19. I also find that the cost of mediation was a necessary cost of this proceeding under 21 

V.S.A. § 678(a), and I award Claimant $852.50 for this cost.  

 

ORDER: 

 

Defendant is hereby ORDERED to pay the cost of Claimant’s physician’s impairment rating 

in the amount of $1,250.00 and the cost of his share of mediation in the amount of $852.50, 

for a total cost award of $2,102.50.   

 

DATED at Montpelier, Vermont this 12th day of May 2022. 

 

 

      _______________________ 

      Michael A. Harrington 

      Commissioner 

 

Appeal: 

 

Within 30 days after copies of this opinion have been mailed, either party may appeal 

questions of fact or mixed questions of law and fact to a superior court or questions of law to 

the Vermont Supreme Court.  21 V.S.A. §§ 670, 672. 


